Skip to content

Toast Ranks in the Top 500 of Canada’s Fastest-Growing Companies Two Years in a Row

Over the past 5 years, Toast has seen its business grow by 1,115%, placing it 87th on the Growth 500 list (last year, it had been a 641% growth-rate for 5 years!).

At the same time, we ranked in 102nd place on Canada’s Top Growing Companies (which ranks growth on a 3-year span)

Ranking Canada’s Fastest-Growing Companies by five-year revenue growth, the Growth 500—formerly known as the PROFIT 500—profiles the country’s most successful entrepreneurial businesses. “In recent years, we have focused our efforts mainly on developing our offer to Canadian brands and broadcasters in content strategy, production and deployment. Efforts that have paid off,” says Ian Quenneville, co-president of the company. “The Canadian television and branded content landscape has evolved enormously over the same period, allowing us to grow both our offer as a content agency and as a television producer. »

Toast was among the first content agencies in Canada to approach marketers and brands to help them structure their audience building efforts and engagement metrics. The increase in content marketing needs among them has directly contributed to the company’s growth.

In addition, the creation of a television production division has created various synergies between content produced for Canadian broadcasters and that of brands working with Toast. Our recent television productions are perfect examples of this ability to develop and create variety and documentary series that take advantage of the organization’s structure.

“This growth has also allowed us to build a great multidisciplinary team. At Toast, we are a core of 30 content experts, but in reality we have a team of 400, and every year we bring in several hundred experts and collaborators to improve the strategy, production and deployment teams of the projects in which we participate,” says Alexandre Gravel, co-president of Toast Studio. “It is this formula that allows our clients to benefit from the strength of our team and our network on all the agency’s and production company’s projects.”

And the company’s growth will not stop there. Its development plan combines organic as well as strategic growth, with a short-term focus on Toronto, where partnerships have already been established.

“The companies on the 2019 Growth 500 are truly remarkable. Demonstrating foresight, innovation and smart management, their stories serve as a primer for how to build a successful entrepreneurial business today,” says Beth Fraser, Growth 500 program manager. “As we celebrate over 30 years of the Canada’s Fastest-Growing Companies program, it’s encouraging to see that entrepreneurship is healthier than ever in this country.”

Launched in 2019, the Canada’s Top Growing Companies ranking program aims to celebrate entrepreneurial achievement in Canada by identifying and amplifying the success of growth-minded, independent businesses in Canada. It is a voluntary program; companies had to complete an in-depth application process in order to qualify. In total, 400 companies made the ranking this year.

“We created the Canada’s Top Growing Companies program because we believe there is much Report on Business readers can learn from the successes of the country’s best entrepreneurs,” says Derek DeCloet, Editor of Report on Business and Executive Editor at The Globe and Mail. “We’re excited to be telling their stories.”

“The 400 companies on the inaugural Report on Business ranking of Canada’s Top Growing Companies ranking demonstrate ambition, innovation and tremendous business acumen,” says Phillip Crawley, Publisher and CEO of The Globe and Mail. “Their contributions to the economy help to make Canada a better place, and warrant commendation.”

 

View our content guides and articles

Skip to content

Toast dans le Top 500 des entreprises ayant la plus forte croissance au Canada 2 années de suite

Au cours des 5 dernières années, Toast a vu ses revenus croître de 1115%, la plaçant au 87e rang du palmarès Growth 500 (l’an dernier, c’était une croissance de 641%, qui avait permis à l’entreprise de se classer au 137e rang).  Anciennement connu sous le nom de PROFIT 500, ce palmarès répertorie les entreprises ayant eu la plus forte croissance au Canada au cours des 5 dernières années.

Cette croissance fulgurante nous a aussi permis de se classer au 102e rang du palmarès Canada’s Top Growing Companies (qui évalue la croissance sur une période de 3 ans).

« Au cours des dernières années, nous avons principalement concentré nos efforts sur le développement de notre offre aux marques et diffuseurs canadiens en stratégie, production et déploiement de contenu. Efforts qui ont porté fruit », affirme Ian Quenneville, coprésident de l’entreprise. « Le paysage canadien en contenu de marque et télévisuel a énormément évolué au cours de la même période, ce qui nous a permis de faire croître autant notre offre en tant qu’agence de contenu que celle en tant que producteur télévisuel. »

En effet, Toast était dans les premières agences de contenu au Canada à approcher les annonceurs et les marques afin de les aider à structurer leurs efforts en création et fidélisation d’audience. L’augmentation des besoins en marketing de contenu chez ceux-ci a directement contribué à la croissance de l’entreprise.

De plus, la mise sur pied d’une division de production télévisuelle a permis de créer différentes synergies entre le contenu destiné aux diffuseurs canadiens et celui des  annonceurs qui travaillent avec Toast. Nos récentes productions télévisuelles sont d’ailleurs les parfaits témoins de cette capacité à développer et créer des séries de variété et documentaires tirant profit de la structure de l’organisation.

« Cette croissance nous a aussi permis de bâtir une équipe multidisciplinaire extrêmement compétente. Chez Toast, nous sommes 30, mais en réalité, nous sommes 400. Chaque année, nous faisons appel à plusieurs centaines d’experts et collaborateurs qui viennent bonifier les équipes de stratégie, production et déploiement des projets auxquels nous participons », mentionne Alexandre Gravel, coprésident de Toast Studio. « C’est cette formule qui permet à nos clients de bénéficier de la force notre équipe et de celle de notre réseau sur l’ensemble des projets de l’agence et de la maison de production.”

Et la croissance de l’entreprise ne s’arrêtera pas là. Notre plan de développement combine une croissance organique ainsi que stratégique, avec des visées à court terme vers Toronto, où des partenariats ont déjà été conclus.

« Les entreprises du Growth 500 2019 sont vraiment remarquables. Faisant preuve de vision, d’innovation et de gestion responsable, leurs histoires servent de guide pour bâtir une entreprise  performante », déclare Beth Fraser, gestionnaire du programme Growth 500. « Alors que nous célébrons les 30 ans du programme des entreprises canadiennes à la croissance la plus rapide, il est encourageant de constater que l’entrepreneuriat est plus sain que jamais au pays. »

Lancé en 2019, le programme Canada’s Top Growing Companies vise à célébrer les réalisations entrepreneuriales au Canada en identifiant et en amplifiant le succès des entreprises indépendantes axées sur la croissance. Il s’agit d’un programme volontaire ; les entreprises ont dû suivre un processus de demande approfondi pour être admissibles. Au total, 400 entreprises se sont classées cette année.

« Nous avons créé le programme Canada’s Top Growing Companies parce que nous croyons que les lecteurs du Report on Business ont beaucoup à apprendre des succès des meilleurs entrepreneurs du pays, affirme Derek DeCloet, rédacteur en chef du Report on Business et rédacteur en chef du Globe and Mail. « Nous sommes excités de raconter leurs histoires. »

« Les 400 entreprises qui figurent dans le classement inaugural du Canada’s Top Growing Companies font preuve d’ambition, d’innovation et d’un sens aigu des affaires « , affirme Phillip Crawley, éditeur et chef de la direction du quotidien The Globe and Mail. « Leur contribution à l’économie contribue à faire du Canada un endroit meilleur et mérite une mention élogieuse. »

 

 

Voir tous nos articles